labo

LABORATOIRES

 

The key element of our pedagogical approach is the participants’ imagination, teaching them to embrace everything and exclude nothing so that they can discover their creative universe and learn to manage the tools to develop it.

Depending on the resources provided, the Insomnia workshops will last between three days and two weeks. Research is always the basic topic used in the workshops.

The workshops are divided into three stages:

  • - Creative journey around the research topic
  • - Theoretical study of the techniques and concepts tackled during the creative journey
  • - Creation of a stage performance: implementation of the concepts initially experienced and then studied theoretically during the first two stages.

The creative journey is like a long improvisation guided by the professors. The guide doesn’t explain the method or technique, but creates a playful atmosphere, allowing the participants to learn from what they feel. The participants travel across the world proposed by the guides and transform it. Photographs, videos, written texts and audio material will record and document this initial stage.

During stage two the participants and the professors will jointly examine the documentation recorded in stage one. They will analyse the theory behind the research topic and its impact on all the other aspects of the artistic work: dramaturgy, production, directing the actors, choreography construction, sound creation, lighting, and stage design.

If possible, the Insomnia workshops will share their work with the public by staging a performance. The latter is not an objective, an outcome or a résumé of our research; it is simply a moment when the public become a participant in the creative process. There is no final show, just a series of stage actions that change continuously. The professor-student relationship becomes horizontal, artist-to-artist, based on reciprocal exchange.

« Our guiding principle was that design is neither an intellectual nor a material affair, but simply an integral part of the stuff of life, necessary for everyone in a civilized society »

Walter Gropius

labo

LABORATOIRES

 

Notre pédagogie centre son travail sur l’imaginaire des participants en leur enseignant à tout accueillir, ne rien exclure, pour découvrir leur univers créatif et apprendre à manier les outils pour le développer.

Les laboratoires d’Insomnia, selon les moyens mis à notre disposition, peuvent avoir une durée d’entre trois jours et deux semaines. Ils utilisent toujours comme base de travail un thème de recherche.

Les laboratoires se déroulent en trois étapes:

  • - Voyage créatif sur le thème de recherche.
  • - Étude théorique des techniques et concepts abordés pendant le voyage créatif.
  • - Création d’une performance scénique: application des concepts vécus puis étudiés théoriquement pendant les deux premières étapes.

Le voyage créatif fonctionne comme une longue improvisation guidée par les professeurs. Le travail du guide n’est pas d’expliquer une méthode ou une technique mais de créer des conditions de jeux qui vont permettre aux participants d’apprendre à partir d’un vécu. Les participants voyagent dans le monde proposé par les guides et le transforment. Cette première étape se documente à l’aide de matériel photographique, vidéo, écrit et sonore.

Dans un second temps se déroule un travail d’étude de la documentation faite durant le voyage créatif. Cette étude consiste à analyser théoriquement le thème de recherche et son impact sur tous les autres aspects de la création artistique : dramaturgie, mise en scène, direction d’acteurs, construction chorégraphique, création sonore, illumination, scénographie.

Quand les circonstances le permettent les laboratoires d’Insomnia partagent leurs recherches avec le public au travers d’une performance scénique. Cette performance n’est ni un objectif, ni un résultat, ni un résumé de nos recherches, mais seulement un instant où le public devient partie prenante du processus créatif. Il n’y a pas de spectacle final sinon une variété d’actions scéniques en perpétuelle transformation. Le rapport de professeur à élèves, devient un rapport horizontal, d’artiste à artiste, basé sur l’échange.

« L’instinct créateur n’appartient pas plus au domaine de l’esprit qu’à celui de la matière, mais il est simplement partie intégrante de la substance vitale d’une société civilisée »

Walter Gropius